Glen Cook


started reading the black company series back in the eighties.enjoyed every page of it ,must say it was well worth the wait. notice he kinda left it open , I personally would not be at all upset if there were more tales in the offing ! my three favorite authors are , tolkien, robert jordan ( wheel of time ), and cook .I believe he is in excellent company listed with the two other best fantasy writers of the twentieth century. lets hope the good work continues , and may he have a long and very sucsessful life.

>>By grendelsson   (Saturday, 24 May 2003 15:11)

I just recently discovered Glen Cook. I read "Chronicles of the Black Company", which is the first 3 books of the Black Company series, and 'Cruel Wind: A Chronicle of the Dread Empire'. Since this is only the 2nd post, I'll tell you a little about what I've read. Don't worry, I'll be very cautious not to drop any horrible spoilers.

"Chronicles of the Black Company", comprised of the titles "The Black Company", "Shadows Linger", and "The White Rose", was pretty amazing. I found myself confused at first, I had no idea what was going on or why anything was happening. I started to realize that Cook was using the confusion as a literary device - very clever. I was hooked before i finished the first chapter. Glen Cook's characters are quite fantastic. Cook uses character names in interesting ways. Such as, verbs as character names; for example: Croaker, and Mocker. He also uses titles to obfuscate and/or describe the characters, for example: The White Rose, an evil queen; The Dominator, The White Rose's even more evil husband. I really can't say that I've seen such extensive creativity in character names and character diversity in the works of other fantasy authors.

Most of Cook's books are a bit hard to find (at least here). "The Books of the South: Tales of the Black Company" is comprised of books 4, 5, and 6 (afaik) of the series and will be released on June 10, 2008. There are a total of 10 books in the Black Company series.

"Cruel Wind" has the first 3 books of the 8 book Dread Empire series.

I am eagerly awaiting future releases... er... re-releases.

>>By Vellocet   (Tuesday, 22 Jan 2008 00:32)

The discussion board is currently closed.